2022 PHILIPPINES TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS for Foreign Tourists and Balikbayans

Philippines Tourist Travel Requirements for Foreign Visitors and Balikbayans 2022

Planning a trip to the Philippines this 2022? Here are the latest Philippines travel requirements and guidelines for foreign tourists, visitors, and balikbayans or former Filipino citizens.

The Philippines is now open to fully-vaccinated tourists! What are the travel requirements when traveling to the Philippines? In the latest travel advisory issued by the Philippine Government, the new entry, testing and quarantine protocols for foreign nationals and balikbayans (former Filipino citizens) arriving to the Philippines from abroad shall meet the requirements and present the following, effective February 10, 2022.

2022 Philippines Travel Requirements for Foreign Tourists, Visitors and Balikbayans

  • Traveler should be fully vaccinated, except only for minor children below twelve (12) years of age traveling with their fully-vaccinated foreign parent/s;

  • Carry/possess an acceptable proof of vaccination;

  • Present a negative RT-PCR test taken within forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date and time of departure from the country of origin/first port of embarkation in a continuous travel to the Philippines, excluding lay-overs; provided, that, he/she has not left the airport premises or has not been admitted into another country during such lay-over;

  • Have valid tickets for their return journey to the port of origin or next port of destination not later than thirty (30) days from date of arrival in the Philippines;

  • Have passports valid for a period of at least six (6) months at the time of their arrival to the Philippines; AND
  • Travel insurance for COVID-19 treatment costs from reputed insurers, with a minimum coverage of USD 35,000.00 for the duration of their stay in the Philippines.

ALSO READ: Updated PHILIPPINES TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS for Foreign Tourists, OFWs, and Balikbayans starting May 30, 2022



  • A traveler is considered fully vaccinated if he/she has received the second (2nd) dose in a 2-dose series or a single dose vaccine more than fourteen (14) days prior to the date and time of departure from the country of origin/port of embarkation.

  • Foreign nationals traveling to the Philippines for business and tourism purposes may enter the Philippines without visas, provided they:

    1. Qualify as former Filipino citizens with Balikbayan privilege, including their spouse and/or children who are not balikbayans in their own right and are traveling with them to the Philippines; provided they are not restricted nationals; OR

    2. Are a citizen/national of the following countries entitled to a stay not exceeding thirty (30) days:

    3. 1. Andorra
      2. Angola
      3. Antigua and Barbuda
      5. Australia
      6. Austria
      7. Bahamas
      8. Bahrain
      9. Barbados
      10. Belgium
      11. Belize
      12. Benin
      13. Bhutan
      14. Bolivia
      15. Botswana
      16. Brazil
      17. Brunei Darussalam
      18. Bulgaria
      19. Burkina Faso
      20. Burundi
      21. Cambodia
      22. Cameroon
      23. Canada
      24. Cape Verde
      25. Central African Republic
      26. Chad
      27. Chile
      28. Colombia
      29. Comoros
      30. Congo
      31. Costa Rica
      32. Cote d’Ivoire
      33. Croatia
      34. Cyprus
      35. Czech Republic
      36. Democratic Republic of the Congo
      37. Denmark
      38. Djibouti
      39. Dominica
      40. Dominican Republic
      41. Ecuador
      42. El Salvador
      43. Equatorial Guinea
      44. Eritrea
      45. Estonia
      46. Ethiopia
      47. Fiji
      48. Finland
      49. France
      50. Gabon
      51. Gambia
      52. Germany
      53. Ghana
      54. Greece
      55. Grenada
      56. Guatemala
      57. Guinea
      58. Guinea Bissau
      59. Guyana
      60. Haiti
      61. Honduras
      62. Hungary
      63. Iceland
      64. Indonesia
      65. Ireland
      66. Israel
      67. Italy
      68. Jamaica
      69. Japan
      70. Kazakhstan
      71. Kenya
      72. Kiribati
      73. Kuwait
      74. Kyrgyzstan
      75. Lao PDR
      76. Latvia
      77. Lesotho
      78. Liberia
      79. Liechtenstein
      80. Lithuania
      81. Luxembourg
      82. Madagascar
      83. Malawi
      84. Malaysia
      85. Maldives
      86. Mali
      87. Malta
      88. Marshall Islands
      89. Mauritania
      90. Mauritius
      91. Mexico
      92. Micronesia
      93. Monaco
      94. Mongolia
      95. Morocco
      96. Mozambique
      97. Myanmar
      98. Namibia
      99. Nepal
      100. Netherlands
      101. New Zealand
      102. Nicaragua
      103. Niger
      104. Norway
      105. Oman
      106. Palau
      107. Panama
      108. Papua New Guinea
      109. Paraguay
      110. Peru
      111. Poland
      112. Portugal
      113. Qatar
      114. Republic of Korea
      115. Romania
      116. Russia
      117. Rwanda
      118. Saint Kitts and Nevis
      119. Saint Lucia
      120. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
      121. Samoa
      122. San Marino
      123. Sao Tome and Principe
      124. Saudi Arabia
      125. Senegal
      126. Seychelles
      127. Singapore
      128. Slovak Republic
      129. Slovenia
      130. Solomon Islands
      131. South Africa
      132. Spain
      133. Suriname
      134. Swaziland
      135. Sweden
      136. Switzerland
      137. Tajikistan
      138. Thailand
      139. Togo
      140. Trinidad and Tobago
      141. Tunisia
      142. Turkey
      143. Turkmenistan
      144. Tuvalu
      145. Uganda
      146. UAE
      147. UK and Northern Ireland
      148. United Republic of Tanzania
      149. USA
      150. Uruguay
      151. Uzbekistan
      152. Vanuatu
      153. Vatican
      154. Venezuela
      155. Vietnam
      156. Zambia
      157. Zimbabwe

  • Once admitted into the country, they are no longer required to observe facility-based quarantine but shall self-monitor for any sign or symptom for seven (7) days with the first day being the date of arrival. However, they are required to report to the local government unit (LGU) of their destination should they manifest any symptoms.

For the complete details on the travel requirements and guidelines for foreign tourists and balikbayans, please see IATF-EID Resolution 160 B.

WHERE TO GO IN THE PHILIPPINES? Check out this list of travel guides on the best travel destinations in the Philippines!




Thank You For Sharing!

SHARE this on Facebook SHARE this on Twitter


  1. Thank you for this information-very helpful.

    for those staying more than 30 days in the Philippines,what do have to do before arriving in the Philippines?

    Thank you,
    Aurora Carino

  2. A like you congtry a comming 22 February a think cebu

  3. are they allowing tourist visa's yet? because I wish to stay more than 30 days


Looking for Budget Travel Guide Blogs, Hotel Reviews, and Sample DIY Itineraries?
Welcome to Pinoy Adventurista, "Your Next Ultimate Adventure Starts Here!"

Pinoy Adventurista is one of the Top Travel Blogs in the Philippines and the World. In 2013, he visited all the 81 provinces in the Philippines.